International Symposium on DIStributed Computing (DISC) 2018

Dijkstra Prize

Dijkstra Prize in
Distributed Computing

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed computing. His foundational work on concurrency, semaphores, mutual exclusion, deadlock, finding shortest paths in graphs, fault-tolerance, self-stabilization, among many other contributions comprises one of the most important supports upon which the field of distributed computing is built. No other individual has had a larger influence on research in principles of distributed computing.

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least a decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.

The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the presentation taking place alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC. In 2018 it will be presented at PODC 2018 (Royal Holloway University, UK). The winners of the award will share the cash award, and each winning author will be presented with a plaque. An announcement of each year’s prize recipient(s) will be included in the PODC and DISC proceedings of that year, describing the paper’s lasting contributions.

The deadline for nominations is March 15, 2018. More information at PODC 18.

Award Committee 2018:

  • Yehuda Afek, Tel-Aviv University
  • Idit Keidar, Technion
  • Boaz Patt-Shamir, Tel-Aviv University
  • Sergio Rajsbaum, UNAM
  • Ulrich Schmid (chair), TU Wien
  • Gadi Taubenfeld, IDC Herzliya


DISC 2018 Sponsors