International Symposium on DIStributed Computing (DISC) 2020

Dijsktra Prize

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is awarded for outstanding papers on the principles of distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory or practice of distributed computing have been evident for at least a decade. It is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed Computing (DISC). The prize is presented annually, with the presentation taking place alternately at PODC and DISC.

The 2020 Dijkstra Prize Award Committee concluded its deliberations and we are happy to announce that the paper

Computation in networks of passively mobile finite-state sensors,
Dana Angluin, James Aspnes, Zoe Diamadi, Michael J. Fischer, and Rene Peralta,
Distributed Computing 18(4): 235-253 (2006)

was selected as the winner of the 2020 ACM-EATCS Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing.

Congratulations to the authors!

2020 Award Committee:

  • Hagit Attiya, Technion (chair)
  • Christian Cachin, University of Bern
  • Rachid Guerraoui, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Nancy Lynch, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Yoram Moses, Technion
  • Paul Spirakis, University of Liverpool and University of Patras
  • Alex Schwarzmann, Augusta University