DISC 2013

Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize – Call for Nominations

The 2013 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing

For details see http://www.podc.org/dijkstra/

          Nominations deadline: June 1, 2013.

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed computing. His foundational work on concurrency, semaphores, mutual exclusion, deadlock, finding shortest paths in graphs, fault-tolerance, self-stabilization, among many other contributions comprises one of the most important supports upon which the field of distributed computing is built. No other individual has had a larger influence on research in principles of distributed computing.

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least a decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.

The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the presentation taking place alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC – this year it will be presented at DISC 2013. The winners of the award will share the cash award, and each winning author will be presented with a plaque. An announcement of each year’s prize recipient(s) will be included in the ACM PODC or EATCS DISC proceedings of that year, describing the paper’s lasting contributions.

 Nominations and Eligibility

Nominations may be made by any member of the scientific community. Each nomination must identify the paper being nominated and include a short paragraph (approximately 200 words) justifying the nomination. Papers appearing in any conference proceedings or journal are eligible, as long as they have had a significant impact on research areas of interest within the theory of distributed computing community, and as long as the year of the original publication is at least ten years prior to the year in which the award is given. Papers authored or co-authored by members of the Prize Committee will not be eligible for consideration.

Please send your nomination to the Chair of the Prize Committee, Gadi Taubenfeld (tgadi[AT]idc.ac.il). Please mind that the nominations deadline is June 1, 2013.

Selection Process

Although the Award Committee is encouraged to consult with the distributed computing community at large, the Award Committee is solely responsible for the selection of the winner of the award. The prize may be shared by more than one paper.  All matters relating to the selection process that are not specified here are left to the discretion of the Prize Committee.

Prize Committee 2013

Yehuda Afek                    Tel-Aviv Univ.

Faith Ellen                         Univ. of Toronto

Boaz Patt-Shamir            Tel-Aviv Univ.

Sergio Rajsbaum             UNAM

Alexander Shvartsman   Univ. of Connecticut

Gadi Taubenfeld, Chair  IDC

Leave a Reply

Post Navigation

Disc 2013 Sponsors