DISC 2018 – Call for Papers

32nd International Symposium on Distributed Computing
October 16–18, 2018, New Orleans, USA

www.disc-conference.org/wp/disc2018/

Important Dates

Abstract registration May 3, 2018 (AoE)
Full paper submission May 12, 2018 (AoE)
Notification full papers July 12, 2018
Notification submitted & invited BAs July 19, 2018
Camera-Ready submission August 5, 2018 (AoE)
Main conference October 16–18, 2018

Program Committee

Ittai Abraham VMware Research Group, USA Marcos K. Aguilera VMware Research Group, USA Dan Alistarh IST. Austria Hagit Attiya Technion, Israel Janna Burman U. Paris-Sud. France Christian Cachin IBM Research Zurich, Switzerland Gregory Chockler Royal Holloway, U. of London, UK Guy Even Tel-Aviv U., Israel Pierre Fraigniaud CNRS & U. Paris-Diderot, France Mohsen Ghaffari ETH Zurich, Switzerland Seth Gilbert NUS, Singapore Robert Gmyr U. of Houston, USA Aix-Marseille U., France **Emmanuel Godard** Bernhard Haeupler CMU, USA Petr Kuznetsov Telecom ParisTech, France Silvio Lattanzi Google Research, Switzerland Christoph Lenzen MPI for Informatics, Germany Marios Mavronicolas U. of Cyprus, Cyprus U. of Illinois, USA Sayan Mitra Yoram Moses Technion, Israel Achour Mostefaoui U. of Nantes, France Gopal Pandurangan U. of Houston, USA Cornell Tech, USA Rafael Pass Andrzej Pelc U. of Quebec, Canada Northeastern U., USA Rajmohan Rajaraman Binoy Ravindran Virginia Tech, USA Sergio Rajsbaum UNAM, Mexico Andréa W. Richa Arizona State U., USA Peter Robinson McMaster U., Canada Nicola Santoro Carleton U., Canada Stefan Schmid U. of Vienna, Austria Ulrich Schmid (chair) TU Wien, Austria Pierre Sens Sorbonne U., France Gokarna Sharma Kent State U., USA Jukka Suomela Aalto University, Finland Nitin Vaidya UIUC, USA Jennifer Welch Texas A&M. USA Josef Widder TU Wien, Austria Haifeng Yu NUS, Singapore

Organizing Committee (Chairs)

Costas Busch (general)
Gokarna Sharma (workshop)
Josef Widder (proceedings)
Peter Robinson (publicity)
Wyatt Clements (web)

Lousiana State U., USA
Kent State U., USA
TU Wien, Austria
McMaster U., Canada
Lousiana State U., USA

DISC is the International Symposium on Distributed Computing, organized in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.

Scope: Original contributions to theory, design, implementation, modeling, analysis, or application of distributed systems and networks are solicited. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Distributed computing theory, computability, knowledge
- Concurrency and synchronization, transactional memory
- Classic distributed algorithms and data structures: correctness and complexity
- Distributed graph algorithms, dynamic networks, network science
- Multiprocessor and multicore parallel architectures and algorithms
- Circuits, systems on chip and networks on chip
- Wireless, mobile, sensor and ad-hoc networks
- Fault tolerance and self-stabilization, reliability, availability
- Security in distributed computing, cryptographic protocols
- Blockchain and other recent distributed paradigms
- Game-theoretic approaches to distributed computing
- Formal verification, synthesis and testing: methodologies, tools
- Distributed operating systems, middleware, and distributed programming
- Distributed databases, big data, cloud and peer-to-peer computing
- Mobile agents, autonomous distributed systems, swarm robotics
- Biological and nature-inspired distributed algorithms
- Machine learning and distributed computing

Submission: Papers are to be submitted electronically, following the guidelines on the conference web page. Submissions must be in English and in .pdf format, and must indicate on the first page if the paper is eligible for the best student paper award. By registering the abstract for a regular submission, the authors declare that the submission will report on original research that has not previously appeared and is not currently under review for (or concurrently submitted to) a journal or a conference with published proceedings. Any overlap with a published or concurrently submitted paper must be clearly indicated. Submissions for regular papers must be formatted in accordance with the LIPIcs proceedings guidelines and not exceed 15 pages (excluding references). Authors are expected to include all the ideas necessary for an expert to verify the central claims in the paper. An appendix is not allowed, but providing a full version on arxiv (or a similar public archive like HAL, for instance) is encouraged. LIPIcs typesetting instructions can be found at http://www.dagstuhl.de/en/publications/lipics and the lipics.cls LaTeX style at http://drops.dagstuhl.de/styles/lipics-v2018/lipicsv2018-authors.tgz. Submissions not conforming to these rules (in particular, ones that do not use the 2018 or 2016 LIPIcs style or modify it to save space) and papers outside of the scope of the conference will be rejected without consideration.

A brief announcement submission must not exceed 3 pages (including references) in the same LIPIcs format, with a title starting with "Brief Announcement:". The material in brief announcements can be published later on in other conferences or journals. A regular submission that is not selected for a regular presentation may be invited by the PC for the brief announcements track.

Publication: The proceedings will be published by LIPIcs. Accepted papers and brief announcements must be presented by one of the authors, with a full registration, at the conference site, and according to the final schedule. Any submission accepted into the technical program but not presented on-site will be withdrawn from the final proceedings.

Awards: Awards will be given to the best paper and the best student paper. To be eligible for the best student paper award at least one of the paper authors must be a full-time student at the time of submission, and the student(s) must have made a significant contribution to the paper.

Steering Committee: Roberto Baldoni (*Sapienza U. di Roma, Italy*), Cyril Gavoille (*Bordeaux U., France*), Fabian Kuhn (*U. Freiburg, Germany*), Yoram Moses (**chair**, *Technion, Israel*), Andréa Richa (*Arizona State U., USA*), Jukka Suomela (*Aalto U., Finland*)