WELCOME MESSAGE FROM THE PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIR

Welcome to DISC 2012!

DISC is the International Symposium on Distributed Computing, an international forum on the theory, design, analysis, implementation, and application of distributed systems and networks.

This year, the symposium received 112 regular paper submissions, of which 27 were selected for regular presentations at the symposium. The symposium also received 7 brief announcement submissions. Among these submissions and the regular paper submissions, 24 submissions were selected to appear as brief announcements. Each brief announcement reflects ongoing work or recent results, and it is expected that these brief announcements will appear as full papers in other conferences or journals.

The symposium has keynote presentations by Yehuda Afek and Simon Peyton-Jones. In addition, there are tutorials by Nicola Santoro, Paulo Veríssimo, Elias P. Duarte Jr., and Michel Raynal.

The Best Paper Award goes to Mika Göös and Jukka Suomela for the paper titled "No Sublogarithmic-Time Approximation Scheme for Bipartite Vertex Cover".

The Best Student Paper Award goes to Boris Korenfeld and Adam Morrison for the paper titled "CBTree: A Practical Concurrent Self-Adjusting Search Tree", which is co-authored with Yehuda Afek, Haim Kaplan, and Robert E. Tarjan.

The symposium is co-located with the Workshop on Advances in Distributed Graph Algorithms (ADGA), organized by Amos Korman.

On behalf of the entire DISC 2012 Program Committee, I hope you enjoy the program. Please let any of us know if you have any comments or suggestions for the future.



Marcos K. Aguilera Program Committee Chair http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/people/aguilera