International Symposium on DIStributed Computing (DISC) 2022

Dijsktra Prize

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is awarded for outstanding papers on the principles of distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory or practice of distributed computing have been evident for at least a decade. It is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed Computing (DISC). The prize is presented annually, with the presentation taking place alternately at PODC and DISC.

The committee decided to award the 2022 Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing to the papers

Maged M. Michael.
Safe Memory Reclamation for Dynamic Lock-Free Objects Using Atomic Reads and Writes.
Proc. of the 22nd ACM Symp. on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC), pages 21–30, 2002.


Maurice Herlihy, Victor Luchangco, and Mark Moir.
The Repeat Offender Problem: A Mechanism for Supporting Dynamic-Sized, Lock-Free Data Structures. Proc. of the 16th Intl. Symp. on Distributed Computing (DISC), pages 339–353, 2002.

for providing the first general approach to memory reclamation in nonblocking data structures, with significant impact both in research and practice.

Award Committee 2022:

  • Marcos Aguilera, VMware Research
  • Alessandro Panconesi, University of Rome La Sapienza
  • Andrea Richa, Arizona State University
  • Christian Scheideler (Chair), Paderborn University
  • Alexander Schwarzmann, Augusta University
  • Philipp Woelfel, University of Calgary