International Symposium on DIStributed Computing (DISC) 2019

Dijkstra Prize

Dijkstra Prize in
Distributed Computing

The Edsger W. Dijkstra Prize in Distributed Computing is named for Edsger Wybe Dijkstra (1930-2002), a pioneer in the area of distributed computing. His foundational work on concurrency, semaphores, mutual exclusion, deadlock, finding shortest paths in graphs, fault-tolerance, self-stabilization, among many other contributions comprises one of the most important supports upon which the field of distributed computing is built. No other individual has had a larger influence on research in principles of distributed computing.

The prize is given for outstanding papers on the principles of distributed computing, whose significance and impact on the theory and/or practice of distributed computing has been evident for at least a decade. The Prize includes an award of $2000.

The Prize is sponsored jointly by the ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC) and the EATCS Symposium on Distributed Computing (DISC). This award is presented annually, with the presentation taking place alternately at ACM PODC and EATCS DISC. In 2019 it will be presented at DISC 2019 (Budapest, Hungary). The winners of the award will share the cash award, and each winning author will be presented with a plaque. An announcement of each year’s prize recipient(s) will be included in the PODC and DISC proceedings of that year, describing the paper’s lasting contributions.

The deadline for nominations is March 30, 2019. More information at PODC 19.

Award Committee 2019:

  • Lorenzo Alvisi, Cornell University
  • Shlomi Dolev, Ben Gurion University
  • Faith Ellen (chair), University of Toronto
  • Idit Keidar, Technion
  • Fabian Kuhn, University of Freiburg
  • Jukka Suomela, Aalto University
DISC 2019 Sponsors