14th International Symposium on DIStributed Computing (DISC 2000)

October 4-6, 2000 Toledo, Spain

News | Registration | Payment | Call for participation | Program | Call for papers | Toledo | Travel Info | DISC'2000 Information


Regular submissions due: 11:59 PM EST, April 11, 2000. The deadline for regular submissions has been postponed to 18 April

Brief Announcements due: 11:59 PM EST. May 10, 2000.

Acceptance notification: June 16, 2000.

Camera-ready copy due: July 6, 2000.


Original contributions to theory, design, analysis, implementation, or application of distributed systems and networks are solicited. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to: distributed algorithms and their complexity, fault-tolerance of distributed systems, consistency conditions, concurrency control, and synchronization, multiprocessor/cluster architectures and algorithms, cryptographic and security protocols for distributed systems, distributed operating systems, distributed computing issues on the internet and the web , distributed systems management, distributed applications, such as databases, mobile agents, and electronic commerce, communication network architectures and protocols, specification, semantics, and verification of distributed systems.


Ongoing work for which full papers are not ready yet or recent results published elsewhere are suitable for submission as brief announcements. It is hoped that researchers will use the brief announcement track to quickly draw the attention of the community to their experiences, insights and results from ongoing distributed computing research and projects.

The symposium program lists all accepted papers--regular and brief announcements. Brief Announcements are presented at the symposium in a rump session and get 10 minutes each. Regular papers get 25 minutes each. The symposium proceedings will include only accepted regular papers and will be published by Springer in its "Lecture Notes in Computer Science" series. Accepted brief announcements will be published in a Technical Report by the host university, the Polytechnic University of Madrid.


Every submission, regular or brief, should be in English, begin with a cover page, and followed by an extended abstract. The cover page should include: (1) title, (2) authors and affiliations, (3) postal and email address of contact author, and (4) an abstract of the work in a few lines. Regular submissions only must indicate (5) whether the submission should be considered for the best student paper award, and (6) whether the submission should be considered for both regular and brief announcement tracks.

A regular submission's extended abstract should be no longer than 4800 words and not exceed 12 pages on letter-size paper using at least 11 point font and reasonable margins (the page limit includes all figures, tables, and graphs). A brief announcement's extended abstract should not exceed 4 pages using at least 11 point font and reasonable margins. Submissions deviating from these guidelines will be rejected without consideration of their merits.

It is recommended that the extended abstract begins with a succinct statement of the problem or the issue being addressed, a summary of the main results or conclusions, a brief statement of the key ideas, and a comparison with related work, all tailored to a non-specialist.


Authors are strongly encouraged to submit their papers electronically. A detailed description of the electronic submission process is available at Authors who cannot submit electronically must submit a printed copy to the DISC program chair at the following address: Maurice Herlihy, Computer Science Dept, Box 1910, Brown University, Providence, RI 02912, USA. Email: [email protected] Phone: 401-863-7646 (USA). Authors submitting hard copies should also send an e-mail to the program chair indicating that they are submitting in this manner.


A paper is eligible for the best student paper award if it is a regular submission, one of its authors is a full-time student at the time of submission and the student's contribution is significant. The program committee may split this award or decline to make it.


Rida Bazzi (Arizona State U.)

Ajoy Datta (U. of Nevada, Las Vegas)

Peter Dickman (U. of Glasgow)

Panagiota Fatourou (Max-Planck Inst.)

Paola Flocchini (U. of Ottawa)

Maurice Herlihy (chair) (Brown U.)

Lisa Higham (U. of Calgary)

Christos Kaklamanis (CTI)

Idit Keidar (MIT)

Michael Merritt (ATT Laboratories)

Enrico Nardelli (L'Acquila)

Luis Rodrigues (U. of Lisbon)

Peter Ruzicka (Comenius )

Assaf Schuster (Technion)

Mark Tuttle (Compaq Research)

Roger Wattenhofer (Microsoft Research)

Jennifer Welch (Texas A&M)

Peter Widmayer (ETH Zurich)


Angel Alvarez, Technical University of Madrid